PDA

View Full Version : help


hoagie master 12
04 December 2008, 01:03 AM
i want to post something about something very popular (that contributes to cp) that came back, but i don't know if it would be considered advertising, since it isnt the cp website.
i don't even need to use the url if you want just the name of the site

Chandru
04 December 2008, 01:47 AM
Put it in your signature, as long as it is not known to have malware.

hoagie master 12
04 December 2008, 10:18 AM
yeah but its not mine
just a REALLY good fansite that left and now is back.
you might remember it

Bizor
04 December 2008, 01:42 PM
If it's one of those wordpress sites, the popular ones are and were mostly run by known or previous hackers, so, you may not want to take a chance.

You should email it to one of the mods if you want a straightforward answer.

worldking01
04 December 2008, 01:58 PM
You can still post it in your signature, even if you didn't make the site. But like Bizor said, becareful if it is a word press. Because most of them are run by hackers.

blingstr
04 December 2008, 03:50 PM
You can still post it in your signature, even if you didn't make the site. But like Bizor said, becareful if it is a word press. Because most of them are run by hackers.

Maybe alot, but not most. You can put the website in your signature but do not post it as it would be advertising. Any kind of fan website/chat/blog even if it is not yours it's still advertising. If you want to tell your friends about the website tell them on IM or e-mail.

hoagie master 12
04 December 2008, 07:06 PM
not a wordpress. i it actually has a swf domain and everything.
it was gone, but i just clicked a link to it and it was back online
nothing about hacing or anything, here i will put it in my sig, so its not advertising, and once you see it tell me if i should post it

Dracophile
04 December 2008, 10:25 PM
Yea that's Rod Rego's Flash Penguins website, which he got into quite a bit of trouble for having a directory of SWF files and stuff at. He also hotlinked to RFSHQ for a LONG time while that website was still online, and his applet "ArcticRush" frames the load.swf Club Penguin client into his own website, which is expressly prohibited. I know that Rod Rego is a respected user here, but it is possible for accounts and passwords to be stolen if you play the game on any other website than Miniclip or Disney/ClubPenguin.com. We had an issue the beginning of this year regarding someone who was hosting a modified load.swf that was being used to steal accounts, so yes it IS possible.

The rest of the site is fine though.

iWaddle
04 December 2008, 10:33 PM
I know that Rod Rego is a respected user here, but it is possible for accounts and passwords to be stolen if you play the game on any other website than Miniclip or Disney/ClubPenguin.com. We had an issue the beginning of this year regarding someone who was hosting a modified load.swf that was being used to steal accounts, so yes it IS possible.

Rod Rego wouldn't do something like that. I keep in touch with him on PengSpace and such, and I know he would never log passwords. He has his own penguin, and he doesn't play anymore due to his job. Sure, you should play Club Penguin from there website and Miniclip only, but it's handy if it's on a website, too.

I was nearly offered to work for Flash Penguins, so I trust Rod not logging passwords.

Dracophile
04 December 2008, 10:37 PM
Rod Rego wouldn't do something like that. I keep in touch with him on PengSpace and such, and I know he would never log passwords. He has his own penguin, and he doesn't play anymore due to his job. Sure, you should play Club Penguin from there website and Miniclip only, but it's handy if it's on a website, too.

I was nearly offered to work for Flash Penguins, so I trust Rod not logging passwords.

I know he probably isn't stealing passwords, but it is my job to urge people to ONLY play Club Penguin on "trusted" websites because once you go outside of the safe zone anything is possible. Rod's a talented guy but all it takes is one bad event to make him defect against the community and change up his code. Not saying that's what he's doing but it's a possibility.

hoagie master 12
05 December 2008, 12:27 AM
hey draco, i just tried that feature, and it didn't even work, its not doing anything, it shows the cp Uh-Oh page, so he can't use it for passwords ;)
so can i post it?

Dracophile
05 December 2008, 12:30 AM
hey draco, i just tried that feature, and it didn't even work, its not doing anything, it shows the cp Uh-Oh page, so he can't use it for passwords ;)
so can i post it?

Looks like they fixed the framing issues then, which is good.

I personally do not have a problem with the discussion of websites because that is not advertising. Advertising is people posting threads simply saying "VISIT MUH WORDPRESs!!1".

hoagie master 12
05 December 2008, 10:26 AM
Looks like they fixed the framing issues then, which is good.

I personally do not have a problem with the discussion of websites because that is not advertising. Advertising is people posting threads simply saying "VISIT MUH WORDPRESs!!1".

lol xD
so i can post it since its just discussion of a website:)
i think people would be interested that its back